Friday’s Super Short Stories!

So pretty … but their time is so short … Eastern Redbuds announce the beginning of Spring and then start to fade … Every year I smile at ours … for when we first got it, we didn’t think it would survive … To people who would drive by it looked like I was watering a dead tree … but it has lasted many years now … This isn’t ours but looks the same, except ours has started turning green already.

Pinterest image

Pawprints are forever left on the heart! A month ago we said goodbye to our Lassie girl, at the age of 17. She lived a good, long life, but when a dog becomes a member of the family, their time is always too short. Forever grateful for the special pets I have had in my life. Each one touching my heart in a special way. Thank you Lassie, you will be forever loved!

My son’s girlfriend made the special collage of pictures of Lassie below for us. He had Lassie since he was six years old. She grew up with our children.

Run free now over the bridge and enjoy seeing clearly once again!

“Until one has loved an animal, a part of one’s soul remains unawakened.” Anatole France

Share picture of your loved pet in the comments. What a sad world this would be if there were no animals.

42 thoughts on “Friday’s Super Short Stories!

  1. When our beloved Ray passed away in Jan of 2023, we spent the next 9 months “attacking” (inviting ourselves to cuddle and caress) all the dogs we would see when we were out. It took us those 9 months to decide ……. yes we really should adopt another dog!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m so very sorry about the loss of your Lassie girl. To have loved (and ultimately lost) a childhood pet is one of life’s hardest experiences. But that quilt is a lovely gesture of love and remembrance. Sending gentle thoughts of comfort on your loss. ❤️‍🩹

    Those Eastern redbuds are spectacular when they’re in bloom butare quite nondescript trees once they leaf out. I always forget where they are on my walks and am delighted the next spring when they bloom again. Good on you for having faith while it established itself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Monika! ❤️
      His GF is so very sweet and thoughtful and enjoys making sentimental gifts.
      Yes, losing a childhood pet is definitely hard, but at the same time, I am so glad that a lifelong love for animals has been instilled in my children’s hearts.

      Yes, our tree is a reminder to not give up on things in spite of the way they look. Beauty may still arise from it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Redbuds are lovely, and hardier than they look. I’m thinking about planting some in my backyard to replace the willows that have mostly been killed by climate change.

    Lassie was a beautiful dog. My sympathies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My aunt sent me the poem by Rudyard Kipling, The Power of the Dog. Mine has been gone longer than she lived, but she’s still one of the biggest influences in my life, my God-given gift, a constant reminder of His love for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Jason! I understand what you mean about not knowing if you have a fourth round in you. I am debating that myself, but I feel that I will probably give in because, as you said, they are so nice to have around. The love they give outweighs the pain of losing them, but it is tough. We still have our Yorkie, but she is getting old, too.

      Like

  5. Joy, I’m so sorry for your loss of Lassie. What a beautiful family member. I know well what they mean to families and us. They are truly soulful. I can’t imagine life without pets. I’m not able to attach a pic, but I think you know my beloved, Finley. Much love and hugs, dear friend! 🐾💕🙏🐾💕❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh Carolyn, I am so very sorry. Our pets are family, and all my babies have fur, four legs and a waggy bit.
    We lost Maggie in November 2020, 2 months shy of her 16th birthday. We still miss her terribly. Maya is wonderful and has her own place in our hearts. They will never be forgotten. We loved them too much.
    That is a beautiful tribute to Lassie. Maggie is my gravatar and I don’t intend to change it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment