Pardon the Interruption…

On this coming Wednesday, April 18th there may be an interruption in service. I don’t expect the interruption to last too long, I just need to go into the “shop” and get fixed up so I can be running smoothly again!

The saga of my left knee continues, but hopefully we are coming to the end of it. The pain that I have been having for the past couple months is being stubborn and has decided to reject the different methods of trying to heal it such as rest, ice packs, heating pads,  cortisone shots and physical therapy.  It really is just a little thing in my knee causing the problem, but little things can sure be a nuisance at times!

It is called Plica Syndrome and I would guess that there are a lot of you that are shaking your head saying, “What is that?”  I will try to describe it in simple terms. Borrowing from Google.

“A plica is a fold of synovial membrane most commonly in the anteromedial aspect of the knee. A plica is present in about 50% of the population and are thought to be the remnants of embryonic connective tissue that failed to fully reabsorb during your fetal development. Luckily, most plica are asymptomatic.”

Yes, most plica’s do not cause a problem and if they do they are healed through the other methods I listed earlier.  There are the rare times though where some plica just need to be removed by surgery and my plica wins the prize for being the one that needs removed through arthroscopic surgery. When I say rare, I do mean it. For a Dr was quoted in an article about Plica saying he only does about one surgery a year. My surgeon hasn’t done them for a couple years. Its just not one of those common surgeries to have, but my Plica insisted on being special.

I am very glad that I will not have to stay in the “shop” overnight. I prefer my own bed so much more! I was warned that I will have a lot of swelling, but the swelling and pain will be worth it in the end! I am very ready to be able to be more mobile, though I know that won’t happen right away!

Stay tuned for who knows what may appear on here. Maybe I will turn my blog over to my dear hubby on Wednesday and Thursday. While I have had that thought I am also still in a mentally aware enough state for now to realize that may not be a good idea.  On Wednesday and Thursday though  my mental state could be in question.

Anesthesia really knocks me out! It seems to take awhile to totally get out of my system. So who knows what kind of post you could get. Just be reassured that if you don’t hear from me for a couple days I am still here, I did not disappear.  I just may be taking a trip into space for a little while. But when my spaceship lands I will be very glad to connect with all of you again.

 

29 thoughts on “Pardon the Interruption…

  1. Well your plica should be ashamed of itself for making such a fuss! Any joint surgery is an “ouchie”, but if it will end the discomfort then it’s worth it. We surely don’t get any younger, so better to take care of business now before you are told it’s too late, we can’t do anything.

    So sorry your ‘down time’ isn’t going to be on a Hawaiian Beach! Wishing you a text book surgery and a speedy, painless, totally uneventful recovery.

    And try to remember your anesthesia induced thoughts. They may be the basis for a very interesting blog!!

    Good luck.
    🔹Ginger🔹

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for the laugh! I will take all of them that I can! 🙂 Thank you for the well wishes too!!
      I had almost written about wishing I could say there would be an interruption due to me going to a Hawaii! Who knows, perhaps someday!
      I will try to remember my anesthesia induced thoughts as best I can, LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve decided to share my Survival Kit, just in case you should need one! It was given to me by a sister of my heart many decades ago and I still find it valuable today. 1) A penny so you will never have to say “I’m broke.” 2) An eraser so you can make all your mistakes disappear. 3) A marble in case someone says “You’ve lost all your marbles.” 4) A rubber band to stretch yourself beyond your limits. 5) A string to tie things together when everything falls apart. 6) A Hug and Kiss to remind you that someone somewhere cares about YOU! You may need one, all or none…but, it never hurts to be prepared.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Don’t fly off until all your equipment is in place, and let us know when you get back to earth. Seriously I wish you a successful surgery and many years of pain free walking. Report in when you are not zoomed out. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, oh, oh. You really are such a special person! Look at what a special treatment you are going to get. You can boast so much about it when you are out of anaesthesia!

    On a serious note, I hope you get enough rest after the surgery and your mobility is pain free. Loads of luck and love!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wishing you the best outcome for your knee surgery. There certainly does seem to be lots of tinkering going on with knees. Two neighbors are getting knee surgeries and you make a third from cyberspace. Heal well. – JoHanna

    Like

Leave a comment