Friendship at the Beach

Home once again.  The beach is only a memory, but oh what a wonderful one it is!  Memories of  laughter, deep conversation, laughter, screams, walking the beach, watching the waves, and memories of investing in a friendship that is over 25 years old and going strong!

“What happens at the beach, stays at the beach!”  That was on a pillow in a gift shop that we were in.  Yes, I am not going to tell you all the details about our trip, but I will share a few.

The first one would be where some of the “screams” in our memories come from.  We were walking along the edge of the water.  One of my favorite things to do at the beach. Deep in conversation when all of a sudden the sand turned to quicksand!  The wet sand just gave way and down we went into a hole.  I am known for getting myself into “holes”, but this time I was in a literal hole up to my knees!  Fortunately I wasn’t walking on Sherry’s side or the hole would have been deeper!  First we screamed and then we laughed as we got ourselves out.  A man was sitting close by and he had witnessed our spectacle.  He did ask if we needed help, but he couldn’t keep the smile from his face when he saw that we were alright. I have this strange feeling that someone somewhere on the crowded beach was videoing the ocean and just happened to catch our fall!

The other memory is that there was close to 15 seagulls around me on my towel at one time!  Sherry was sure that I was going to get pecked but I wasn’t worried, I couldn’t help but laugh at her.  For just a few minutes earlier she had been saying that I should write a story  starring the 2 seagulls that were in front of me.  Now I had 15 to write about!  If you happen to see a story in the near future about seagulls , you know how it started.  The problem is Sherry had only named the first 2, that is 13 more names to come up with!

The beach may be me and Sherry’s favorite place to be.  It is beautiful!  Though there is one thing that is even more beautiful than the beach.  That would be the beauty of FRIENDSHIP!!!

Love ya Sherry! Keep Smiling!

20170808_202132

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Friendship at the Beach

  1. Pingback: Friday’s Super Short Stories! | Nuggets of Gold

Leave a Reply

