A New Beginning!

20170409_06330120170409_063728

A New Day has Dawned! I posted this on Facebook yesterday and some just thought i was literally talking about a new day dawning at the beach. Others knew those words held a much deeper meaning.

I have shared on here before about our upcoming court case. A lot of you have been so supportive in your thoughts and prayers for our family over this time, which I have deeply appreciated. Today I want to share that the trial is over. It took placeΒ  this past Thursday and Friday. It was 2 very stressful days and there was no way I could have made it without your thoughts and prayers.Β 

Just to bring a smile to your face and to show the stress I felt…. I popped the stress ball! Yes, those little balls that are made to squeeze to relieve stress. Apparently I squeezed it too hard during my testimony and “Pop!” as sand went all over my lap.

It was stressful for all of us, for very sensitive, emotional issues were being talked about. As I told some friends, if I am never in a courtroom for a trial again, it will be too soon!!

A New Day Dawning meant the trial is behind us now and we can focus on moving forward. We agreed with the verdict and it is time now to let go. Let go of the dark days, of the cloud that has been hanging over our heads for about the past 2 years! Is there still pain? Yes, and it will take time, but it doesn’t mean we can’t move forward. We did our part, we saw it through and justice is being served.

After 5 hours of jury deliberation, late Friday night we took our tired, emotionally worn bodies home. We crashed into our beds. I awakened later with every muscle in my body hurting. My arms especially were just burning with pain. I knew what it was. I had unconsciously tightened the muscles in my body and held them so tensely in the 2 day trial. They were finally beginning to relax and let go.

Saturday morning we headed for the beach. My arms continued to burn as we drove towards the ocean. Finally we arrived, got settled in our motel and headed for the sand and the waves. The sight and sound of the waves instantly spoke to my heart. This was where no words were needed. I stood and looked out at the ocean that seems to continue forever as the waves spoke. I sat down in my beach chair and I could feel the pain ease from my arms and I started to doze to the sound of the waves crashing on the shore.

17883893_10211318363062187_2876221345260966622_n20170409_075641

Come away with me my friend

Let us listen to the waves

We can now forget the cloudy past

Let us plan for brighter days

All those tears are behind us now

Come away with me my friend

Let’s splash our way along the beach

Together to the very end.

This was sent to me on Saturday from a dear friend.

Yes, I want to plan for brighter days and I couldn’t have thought of a better way to do it. Going to the ocean was the perfect beginning!

20170409_064612

 

24 thoughts on “A New Beginning!

  1. When working in Corporate America, I was the company rep at several trials sitting there next to the lawyers. I don’t know why you were there and it is none of my business, but I can say that I know about the stress you described above, and it was only business and not personal. To get that behind you and spend time at the beach is probably the best medicine that could be prescribed. I wish you better days ahead. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There is something so soothing about the ocean, the sound, the wind, just standing there watching the waves does have a way of helping you put your troubles away. Glad that the court case is over and you can start putting it behind you. Time is a healer and hopefully its a step in that direction. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Becky, reminded me of the Horseshoe Crab picture. My daughter and I found it while walking the beach. It was coming in with the waves, but making its way back into the ocean. Wasn’t sure what it was at first, for half of it was covered with water.
    Have you ever seen a Horseshoe Crab like this one??
    https://scontent.fagc1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-0/q92/p526x296/17835023_10211304264029720_2620753094163957853_o.jpg?oh=e925a1ad086243c5e6f40c1b690cde2d&oe=594C9B97

    Liked by 1 person

  4. JR, I’m so glad that’s over for you. It must have been terribly stressful if the ball came apart. Glad you got to go to the beach. Beautiful pictures, Ihope the stress melted away there. πŸ™πŸ»πŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Mandi!! It was very stressful. but I will say that the popping of the stress ball did bring some much needed laughter. Just try to imagine the faces of my family and my attorney when I walk off the witness stand holding up a deflated stress ball!

      The ocean did a wonderful job at melting my stress away. Ocean therapy is the best!!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

