The Farm Dilemma:Part 11-The Farm is Saved!

HI everyone! Sorry this is late today in getting posted. Was at the beach, enjoying the beauty and peacefulness of the waves! Now switching gears and going back to the Farm. 🙂  Pretty confident that you will be smiling when reading this heart warming conclusion. A heart warming conclusion to Colin’s great story that served a two-fold purpose. Thanks again, my friend.

 

Part 11-The Farm is Saved!

The Man-Servant turned to Florence “Please continue. We have thoroughly enjoyed your visits. What’s on your mind?” Florence looked around the room for a few moments, and then looked at Dewey, Jaxon, Odessa and finally the Man-Servant. “Could I live here? You’re not using my old bedroom for anything and I would love to use it again. I could help out with the costs of running this farm because I have a good job!”

The Man-Servant looked at her. “It‘s a nice idea Florence, and we would all love to have you live here, but there is a major problem. We will be leaving Moonbeam Farm before the end of this year.” Florence was clearly saddened by the news. “Why would you want to leave here?” she asked. “We don’t have a choice as far as I can tell.” said the Man-Servant. “The farm is being purchased by the town, and then demolished in preparation for a road that is planned to come through here.” “Joshua” she said “That does surprise me. I think that I may be able to assist with resolving that problem. Would you like me to get involved?”

Odessa, Dewey and Jaxon had all moved in a little closer, and waited for the Man-Servant’s response. He didn’t say anything! Odessa jumped up onto the Man-Servant’s shoulder and shouted into his right ear “Why aren’t you answering! Here you have a female human, who clearly knows what she is talking about… and you just sit there pondering something or other! Tell her yes! Please get involved!”

Florence had watched Odessa’s performance. “My word Joshua” she said “Odessa certainly just gave you a good talking to!” The Man-Servant looked at Florence. “Yes she certainly did. She wanted to know why I didn’t just say yes please to your offer” Florence looked at the Man-Servant. “Well… why didn’t you?” The Man-Servant was obviously a little uncomfortable now. “The thing is…” he started to explain. “The thing is… the town seems to have already made up its mind, and they are not listening to my objections. They really don’t care about Moonbeam Farm. They just want to build their road!”

Florence was looking very serious. “Joshua, I am an urban planner by profession, and I know this area really well. I know about the road that you are concerned about, but didn’t realize that its route had been changed and was coming through here now! Why don’t you let me find out why the route was changed?” “Can you do that?” said the Man-Servant. “I most certainly can” said Florence.” I not only have friends in high places, and not only do I have a few favors owing to me, but I also know where the most logical route for this road should be! I shall take care of your problem road!”

The Man-Servant looked down and saw three faces grinning at him, and then he turned to Florence. “Remember how this all started with me wanting to say something to you? Well, we all four agreed that…..” he paused. “Jaxon, is this a good time for you to tell her perhaps?”

Jaxon hopped around to right in front of Florence. “Florence” he said. “Welcome to our farm, and we all look forward to seeing a lot more of you now that you are going to be living here. You do still want to live here with us right?” “Of course I do” she said, and then abruptly stopped. ”Jaxon… I understood what you said. How did that happen?” Dewey moved next to Jaxon. “It’s just magic Florence! Just plain and simple magic! Now is there any chance that you could fill up my bowl with food?”

12 thoughts on “The Farm Dilemma:Part 11-The Farm is Saved!

Leave a Reply

