The Farm Dilemma: Part 10-A Big Question

Good Morning! Not sure what your plans are for the week-end but we are soon headed to the beach!! Yes, it is only April, and the weather is rather cool, but the beach is where my spirit can rest and feel soothed. Where I can be mesmerized by the waves. After these last 2 days, it is much needed!

Any ideas as to what Colin has meant by “A Big Question” in this story? Read on and see if you are right! 🙂

 

A Big Question

Florence visited Moonbeam Farm a number of times over the next few weeks, and was really liked by everybody. She kept asking the Man-Servant how he came to be able to understand Dewey, Jaxon and Odessa, but he always just smiled and said “Magic!”

One evening after she had gone home, the Man-Servant called a meeting! “Well guys” he said “I have had an idea which I would like you all to think about. It is important to understand that unless every one of us is in agreement, then we won’t do it!” Dewey and Odessa looked at each other and were clearly puzzled, while Jaxon was just sitting there and smiling.

It was Dewey who spoke first. “Does it involve food? If it does, it gets my vote!” “No Dewey.” said the Man-servant. “It does not involve food!”

Jaxon was jumping up and down with excitement. “I know! I know!” he said. “Okay Jaxon” said the Man-Servant. “You tell them.” Jaxon suddenly looked very serious. “Well guys. It’s like this. Florence, the human Florence, has become a regular visitor and really seems to like us. I think it would be fair to say that we like her a lot… but there is one small problem. She cannot talk to us without the Man-Servant interpreting our response for her. What the Man-Servant is proposing, and I can do this, is to give Florence the ability to understand us. What do you all think?”

Odessa looked very thoughtful. “We will have to trust her not to tell everybody otherwise our farm will become a zoo very quickly, but I think we can trust her.” Dewey looked up at the Man-Servant. “As long as she brings food regularly… it works for me!”  The Man-Servant looked at all three of them. “Well guys, I don’t have a problem with it, but it is your magic Jaxon so perhaps we should let you make the final decision.”

Jaxon looked around and said “No problem for me. It is easy magic to do, and she does not need to participate. I can do it as soon as I see her and, if necessary, I can take it away from her just as easily. Let’s do it!”

The next time that Florence visited, the Man-Servant called everybody over. “Florence” he said “The four of us here had a discussion about you, and we would like to tell you what we decided.” “Oh dear” said Florence “I hope it is going to be good news, because I have a question for you guys!” The Man-Servant became thoughtful. “Okay Florence, as a matter of courtesy, why don’t you ask your question first?”

She was obviously thinking about the best way to present her question. The Man-Servant, Dewey, Jaxon and Odessa were all looking at her and waiting. Suddenly, she said “Well… I’ve really enjoyed coming here, and we all seem to be getting along really well, that I was wondering if……”  There was total silence!

Odessa looked at the Man-Servant. “What’s your problem? Can’t you see that she is having difficulties? Encourage her! She is one of your species… just in case you had not noticed!”

8 thoughts on “The Farm Dilemma: Part 10-A Big Question

  1. Curiouser and curiouser! I’d hoped to pull another catch-up and see what happens but I think that backfired as I’m now even more in suspense! Perhaps they will both have the same question??

    Have a great trip to the beach! Hopefully there’s much relaxation and healing rays enjoyed ❤

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

