The Farm Dilemma: Part 8-Getting to Know You

Good Morning! Darkness still covers the sky, but not too long from now light will begin to erase the darkness. The day is here. The day that I have been dreading and anticipating for so long! 48 hours. I can do this. I can handle it. The light at the end of the tunnel is within my grasp. Breathe in, breathe out, my family is strong. We are covered in the thoughts and prayers of many and so very grateful! Thank you from the bottom of my heart, my friends! I do feel peace.

Now at last Part 8 is here! Why wasn’t it here yesterday? Well you just never know what mischief Dewey and his friends can stir up. 🙂

So the million dollar question is about to be answered. What does Florence think of Joshua, the Man-Servant, and his 3 friends at the farm? Or maybe more importantly what do they think of her?

 

Part 8: Getting to Know You!

The Man-Servant looked at Dewey. “It’s okay Dewey, you can speak normal now.” Dewey just grinned and said “Meow!” Florence stooped down to talk to him. “Can’t you make sounds similar to the others?” she said. Dewey looked at her. “Do you have any food because I am starving?” The Man-Servant interpreted for her and she gave Dewey a big smile.

 “Well” said Florence to all four of them. This has been a lovely visit, and a very unusual one. I have never met any animals or birds that could express themselves as well as you guys seem to do to Joshua. I am so glad that you are all here. Moonbeam Farm was always a very special place for me to visit and you guys are certainly keeping it a very special place!” She gave them all a big warm smile. “Thank you all so much. I loved coming here and meeting you all.” Then she turned to the Man-Servant. “Did they understand me?” The Man-Servant nodded. “Yes” he said. “They understood you perfectly!”

“Oh… before I leave” said Florence “Would you care to tell me how you got to understand Dewey, Jaxon and Odessa?” The Man-Servant laughed. “Let’s save that for another time!” he said. “It’s magic!”

Odessa walked over to the Man-Servant. “I like her” she said. “Invite her over again!” The Man-Servant chuckled and, when he turned around, he saw Florence smiling at him. “What did Odessa just say to you?” “She said that she likes you, and that I should invite you over again.” “Well” said Florence “I am free tomorrow afternoon!”  “That would be lovely” said the Man-Servant “We’ll be here all day so whenever is convenient to you will be fine with us!” Florence said farewell to each of them, and then got into her car and drove out of the yard.

The Man-Servant started walking back towards the house when he stopped. Turning around, he noticed Dewey, Jaxon and Odessa were right behind him.  He took one step forward… and so did they! He took two steps forward… and so did they! He then ran through the doorway and into the kitchen, and all three of them ran behind him!

Dewey curled up on one of his cushions by the fireplace “Come on Man-Servant” he said. “Do you like her as much as we do?” Jaxon sat next to Dewey. “What are you going to do next Man-Servant? Invite her over for dinner perhaps?” Odessa then moved over and confronted Dewey and Jaxon. “Now listen up you two! I like her just as much as you do, but the Man-Servant still has to figure out how to save the farm, or where we are going to be living in the future.”

The Man-Servant looked at all three of them. “Odessa is right” he said. “Florence does seem to be a really nice lady, and she certainly liked you guys, but the future of this farm is the main thing on my mind at the moment. I really cannot see anyway that we can argue Moonbeam Farm is more important than the new road. Perhaps I’ll see things differently tomorrow!” Odessa and Jaxon said their good nights and went over to the barn. The Man-Servant gave Dewey his bed-time snack, and then went upstairs to his bed.

He just lay there, with the moon shining in through the window, thinking about the farm, Odessa, Dewey, Jaxon… and Florence.

7 thoughts on “The Farm Dilemma: Part 8-Getting to Know You

  1. Good job once again Colin! I can imagine the Man-Servant’s smile as he is laying on the bed thinking of Odessa, Dewey and Jaxon…. and yes, can’t forget Florence. What role may she play in his life?? 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Worth the extra day of waiting 😉. (Btw that extra day worked out perfectly for me as I had sinus pain and pressure as well the the headache that it often produces making reading anything difficult.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

