Striking a balance

Recently, as a lot of you know, my phone self destructed and I had to go about 2weeks without it. I know, how on earth did I survive? Did I lose my sanity? Guess what? The results are in…. and my sanity is still intact! Okay, so there may be some who differ with that opinion, but what do they know! They don’t have solid proof, so I will stick to my story. πŸ™‚

I will admit I love having a phone. I could list the reasons, but am not going into that. Yes, there are a lot of reasons I I like having a phone, but there are a lot of things that simply can’t compare to a phone!

Phones cannot give real hugs! Phones cannot take your hand as you are walking under the stars with someone you love! My husband and I used to take midnight walks in the trailer court that we first lived in. He worked 2nd shift so I would wait up for hm and off we would go for a stroll. Yes, we still take walks hand in hand. Can’t say we have taken a midnight walk anytime lately though.

Phones cannot take the place of real conversations. I am very grateful to be able to text and carry on conversations with people who I can’t have face to face conversations with, but does it compare to a face to face contact? Most definitely not!

Phones have their place. I don’t want to give my phone up. My husband has already joked thatΒ  I am quickly wearing out my new phone! Hey, I have to make sure it works, before the warranty runs out!

This post isn’t about making you feel guilty for having a phone, but it is a reminder that phones really are just a thing. A thing that can’t compare to a human relationship. If we forget that we are in danger of losing so much!

It is about the fact that we as a society have to make sure that we don’t let phones rule us. They should not dictate our lives, and it can happen quicker then you think. We need to remember the value in the human relationship and stop phones from interfering with that. We need to not let the world pass us by,Β  as we are glued to the screens of our phone.

A dear friend of mind had shared theΒ  link belowΒ  on Facebook and it struck my heart. As the saying goes, ” A picture is worth a thousand words!”

After posting this I was told that the link wasn’t working. I removed it and will try later today to post it. Sorry! Just another example of how technology can be great when it works, but when it doesn’t…..!

36 thoughts on “Striking a balance

  1. Hello to the new phone Joy!! πŸ˜„πŸ˜„ ohh I hear ya about checking out the phone before it’s warranty runs out. I once had to return a phone after barely 3 weeks of using it, it just went off on me one morning. Thank God for warranty 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Most of the time I don’t carry my phone but I would have killed to have one when I was young. I can’t remember the hours I spent shackled to the house waiting for a call. We didn’t have Google then. Don’t know how I lived without it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t really sympathise with you for having to go without a phone for 2 weeks πŸ˜€ There are wonderful experiences that you discovered before you got a new one πŸ™‚
    Recently, I had a similar experience. I had to go without Internet for a day!! Yes, right, that is nothing compared to what you had to go through. It wasn’t extreme but it made me very anxious for a few hours. When i settled down a bit, i realized what a wonderful world it is when you are present in the moment and what wonderful thoughts you think when you are not distracted by the constant media chatter.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Striking a Balance…. Part 2 | Nuggets of Gold

  5. I’m impressed you made it two weeks and managed to stay sane! This post makes some good points though, and definitely something to consider.
    I’m okay without mine so long as I have something else to keep me occupied. I’ve come to rely on it as a type of fidget-device when I’m bored or stuck somewhere with no alternative. It’s the map option that I usually miss the most – no idea how people ever navigated without Google maps!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for pointing out how I stayed sane. πŸ™‚ If you see the comments by the 2 clowns they may disagree with you. But what do they know πŸ™‚
      LOL at the map! Yes for this directionally challenged person that MAY help!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. My husband worked his entire career for Ma Bell. But, I often wonder if Alexander Graham Bell had any idea that the smart phone would replace ‘real’ life, he might have just tossed it out the window. Family, friends, neighbors, community – it has all been negatively impacted by the phone. I’ll stop there before I sound grumpy, but everywhere you go where people gather you see them all hunched over their phones instead of talking to each other. Maybe talking to another human being will be like cursive – we’ll just stop teaching it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bravo Judy! I do not have a cell phone and would appear to be surviving very well however, what really irks me are the constant call/message sounds in restaurants or other places where they are an intrusion. Also, so many cell phone users put a call on hold if another call comes in! What a great way of making the first caller feel rather insignificant (emergencies aside of course)! Cell phones appear to be bringing to the surface some rather anti-social traits. I still don’t want one!

      Liked by 1 person

      • My husband has a dumb one for emergencies, and I have a smart one for the camera and to access the internet if needed when out and about. We did take a step that was drastic to us this year and cancelled our land line. We didn’t think we’d ever do it, but living in NH that is the only way to stop the political calls. It is heavenly quiet since we got rid of it. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

      • Yes, I don’t like hearing phones go off either when in public places. That would be why Brad and I use the vibrate option when in public. That doesn’t disturb anyone.
        I promise that if you would ever call me, I wouldn’t put you on hold! I would probably just not answer the call…. KIDDING!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting Judy! Sorry. that I am just seeing it now.
      You don’t sound grumpy πŸ™‚
      You are right, there have been negative affects due to the “smart” (maybe not so smart) phones!
      May we never stop teaching the importance of real communication!!
      The fact that we have stopped teaching cursive…. well that’s another post! πŸ™‚ It is crazy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

