Friday’s 6 word story plus a Bonus Feature!

The End isn’t always the end….

You thought Part 12 to Odessa’s Journey was the end, didn’t you?  Odessa wanted to pop her head in one more time. After all she is a star now, after having made such a big journey!  Enjoy the interview that she gives Colin. 🙂

Interview with Odessa (after “Odessa’s Journey” was Posted):

Colin: Welcome Odessa and thank you so much for agreeing to meet with me to chat about the epic story “Odessa’s Journey”.

Odessa: No problem Colin. I had a great time, and I totally trusted that you would ensure no harm came to me.

Colin: Once you knew that I was having you leave the farm, what did you think?

Odessa: Well I had no idea what to think because I had not seen the later parts of the story. In fact, I don’t think that you had written beyond Parts 4 or 5 at that time!

Colin: I thought it a nice idea to have Hermione bid you farewell before you took flight over the big water.

Odessa: Yes that was nice. I really like Hermione and her Mom but then… they are owls too!

Colin: How did you feel about being written into a flight over the big water, when nobody knew how big it was?

Odessa: Well it was a scary thought at first but, again, I just had to trust that you would keep me safe.

Colin: Towards the end of you first flight over the big water, things were getting pretty desperate towards the end of Part 5 weren’t they. What were you thinking then?

Odessa: At the time that I was struggling to stay in the air, I was a little worried as to how you were going to keep me from hitting the water, but I saw what you wrote at the end of Part 5 and so could relax!

Colin: What did you think about the idea of bringing your Mom into the story to save you from crashing into the water?

Odessa: Oh that was lovely. As I never knew my Mom in the traditional sense, it was so nice to meet her if only in spirit. I was rather surprised, when I read the story, that my Dad had no place in it. What happened there?

Colin: Good point Odessa, and it was pure oversight! When the story was finished, and most of it had been Posted in Carolyn’s Blog, I realized that I had missed an opportunity to expand the story further. However, perhaps I can write your Dad into a future story. Any thoughts about your return journey that you would like to share?

Odessa: Well yes. You could have gone into a lot more detail. You could have included me seeing Florence coming towards me and taking my weight as she tried to fly me home. You could have described us falling into the water from my perspective, and then how I saw little Hermione coming up and how she tried to keep us afloat. You could have covered me seeing the boat getting ever closer and then hearing Dewey and Jaxon and, finally, how the Man-Servant pulled me and Florence out of the water. You really did miss out on lots of points of interest and, after all, you did call this Odessa’s Journey so I would have assumed that I would figure in it all!

Colin: You make some good points Odessa, but the thing is, Carolyn was being a bit of a pain always wanting to know when it was going to end, so I tried to compromise between writing a good story, but keeping it as condensed as possible. Perhaps next time, I won’t say anything until it is completely done. How about the reunion at the farm Odessa? Did you like it?

Odessa: I was so relieved when I saw what you had written in those last two parts. Anything was possible of course, but I really wanted to be back in the farmhouse, and later go back to the barn with Jaxon. Oh… before I forget… thanks so much for letting me challenge the Man-Servant again. I love doing that! I love giving him a hard-time!

Colin: Well Odessa, it was a pleasure, and a little unusual, to be talking to a character in a book… and a Barn Owl at that, but I enjoyed hearing your views on the story.

Odessa: No problem Colin. It was a little unusual for me too, given that you not only orchestrated me through my whole journey, but you also wrote this complete interview. It was my pleasure to be your owl in the story!

8 thoughts on “Friday’s 6 word story plus a Bonus Feature!

  1. Pingback: Odessa Interview No.2 | Nuggets of Gold

Leave a Reply

