The Anti-Midas Touch

I have decided that I have the Anti-Midas Touch! Remember the fable, how everything King Midas touched turned to Gold. I have not been that lucky yet! Plus, not only do the things I touch not turn to gold, sometimes they break!

I was on the way home from dropping my daughter off at work and had stopped at the gas station, for that is necessary at times! Was leaving the gas station and decided that it was such a short drive home that I didn’t need the A/C, I could let the fresh air in. Pushed the button that is  supposed to automatically put my window down and OH IT DID! It went down fast and CLATTERED as it disappeared into the black hole, never to be seen again! All I did was barely touch it with my finger. So now I wait for my dear hubby to get home from work so I can give him the news. I guess I could start with , “the good news is that the van runs fine!” For we had it in the garage recently cause of making up its mind to not start when we wanted it to. It enjoyed just letting me sit when I would be out running errands. I am thinking that not only do I have the Anti-Midas touch, BUT  that also the van must not like me too well!

My  Anti-Midas Touch reaches into other parts of my life as well. I remember we used to have a nice aquarium and would get real cool fish to put in it. We would enjoy them for about a week and then they would die! Nothing like your kids telling you to PLEASE not get anymore fish, for all they do is die!  Now both of my daughters have their own Beta fish in their rooms and happy to say that they have stayed living for awhile.  I don’t touch them 🙂

I was browsing through the bookstore and thud, the books hit the floor from the shelf right in front of me.In the grocery store  I touch 1 can and the cans by it fall. Can you relate?

It’s a beautiful day, maybe I will go for a walk with my dogs. Can’t break anything that way, right? 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “The Anti-Midas Touch

  1. You missed the perfect opportunity to link the Hollies’ song “King Midas In Reverse,” so I’ll do it for you:

    But, alas, the window has been fixed! It was a bit of a pain, but I got it, and it only cost $1.91 in hardware. That is much better than the $603 garage bill for the new fuel pump a couple weeks ago! Now I need to start the yard work that I had intended to start 2 and a half hours ago.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

