Lesson learned

This morning started out  with a loud boom and crack awakening me from my peaceful slumber! My husband had left a hour earlier, and I had fallen back to sleep instantly, but wasn’t sleeping anymore. We were having a thunderstorm. You know they only happen when you are sleeping! For once I made myself get up the thunder stopped! The bed looked real inviting, but I had to be at work earlier this morning, so knew there was no going back.

Get to work and chaos reigned. You have that when you take care of 1 and 2 year olds. Sometimes it is not as chaotic and more serene, but today I think they all were awakened by the thunder too! They were not happy. Amidst their running around and crawling on me they kept hitting the very sore spot on my leg. I think that is another rule. If you have a sore spot on your body, the little ones will somehow manage to touch it often! The sore spot reminded me of last evening and the incident that happened.

My daughter was excitedly waiting for the Fed Ex truck to come with a package that she had ordered. I knew this was going to be a very large package, weighing around 100 pounds! It came and she was like “Come Mom, help me carry it!” Yeah, now you all probably understand about my leg before I even tell 🙂 Well as all good Moms do, I went out to help her. The Fed Ex guy smiled at me as he slid the package off a ramp from the back of the truck and set it on our driveway and then drove away. The package was very wide, my daughter grabbed a end and I was supposed to get the other. I was stretching my arms as far as they could go. A handle on the box would have been a lot nicer and easier. We started walking and I was like, Yeah I can do this, we don’t need to wait for my husband to get home. Stumble, stumble, OUCH…our porch made contact with my shin bone scraping the skin off. It did hurt, but at the moment my daughter and I were more convulsed in laughter cause of how I am sure it looked to her and any neighbors that were out and about. We did manage to get in right inside the front door and then I was done! Lesson learned?  It saves yourself pain if you don’t try carrying the heavy load by yourself.

Recently as I been going through hard struggles, I have had to reach out to others to help carry the load. This  doesn’t naturally come easy for me, for I like to be the one who encourages instead. It’s easy for me to hide my pain and to say to myself, I can do this. But all that does is make the load heavier to carry and more chance of me stumbling and causing myself unnecessary pain. Pain,  when there are people standing by more than willing  to help. Did I mention that my other daughter was inside?  She was like, “Why didn’t you call me?” Because I thought, how hard can it be. My leg is reminding me right now that I was wrong!

As humans we are created to need each other, to be there for each other, not to feel that we have to do everything on our own! Don’t be afraid to drop your mask and admit when you are struggling and need a helping hand. It’s not a sign of weakness, its a sign of being smart and strong enough to tell yourself that this is TOO BIG of a package to carry on my own. AND you sometimes need to enlist more than just 1 person to help .I have no  problem admitting that my 14 year old is physically stronger than me, she was born strong 🙂 But we  still needed more people. Sometimes the package is sooo big that you need a large group of caring people to help! The point is, STOP facing scary, painful things alone.  Don’t add to your pain, help subtract from it by the loving support of those around you!

PS. You may wonder why I am ending with a picture of a Tropical Island 🙂 Well in my post yesterday I ended with a picture of a child in the rain with ducks by her side. Today as I went to leave work I got to the door and it was POURING. Not sprinkling or drizzling, but pouring! I remembered the picture in my post yesterday and so I did try and smile as I was getting drenched, while going to my car! And on the  way home thought to myself, Hey maybe if I put a picture of a Tropical Island in my post , there will be airline tickets waiting for me tomorrow in my mailbox 🙂 Yeah, I am a dreamer, but what can it hurt! Enjoy the picture!

Maldives, a Beautiful, Secluded <a class="pintag searchlink" data-query="%23Tropical" data-type="hashtag" href="/search/?q=%23Tropical&rs=hashtag" rel="nofollow" title="#Tropical search Pinterest">#Tropical</a> Paradise and a Top <a class="pintag searchlink" data-query="%23Dreamdestination" data-type="hashtag" href="/search/?q=%23Dreamdestination&rs=hashtag" rel="nofollow" title="#Dreamdestination search Pinterest">#Dreamdestination</a> <a class="pintag" href="/explore/travel/" title="#travel explore Pinterest">#travel</a>

8 thoughts on “Lesson learned

  1. I’m sure we’ve all had plenty of times when we realized after the fact that we should have asked for help. No need to carry the heavy loads on our own — most people don’t mind being asked for help and are happy to make themselves useful. And yes, if you keep looking at tropical island pictures I expect something will show up after a while! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

