One thing leads to another!

HI! Wasn’t sure if I was gonna post another post today, trying to make sure I at least post once a day now and hey if I can get 2 in, well you are getting a bonus πŸ™‚ But my mind started drifting so thought I would share it for I am sure there are those out there who can identify.

Was taking my teenager toΒ  turn in an application for a possible summer job, which took me back to my first jobs. Do you remember your first job? Did you love it or hate it or didn’t really care about it, just glad you were getting a paycheck πŸ™‚ Remember the $4.25 a hour wage? Now, I am showing my age πŸ™‚

My first job was like most everyone’s. A fast food restaurant. I worked at Rax, a chain no longer around, but they had delicious milkshakes! Every night after work I would grab my free milkshake as I headed out the door.

Yup remember going home every night smelling like greasy fries,etc.but I did enjoy the job. My friend and I worked the same schedule which was fun!Β  I was cashier most of the time and loved interacting with the customers. Now once I became a waitress at a Family Style restaurant I interacted more with the customers, but Rax was the beginning.

My 2nd job was Wendy’s. See not every Fast Food restaurant I worked at went out of business πŸ™‚ At Wendy’s I remember the Twitterpatted feeling πŸ™‚ C’mon ladies you know what I mean, when your heart goes pitter patter when that special guy is working with you.Β  You see him walk in the door and you sigh toΒ  yourself knowing that it will be a fun night at work. Nothing ever really came of it, but it made work more enjoyable πŸ™‚

After that was Chick-Fil-A, where the manager loved to play jokes on me. I still remember the one day where I got a call from a guy wanting to know how quickly we could make like 100 sandwiches, different kinds. Could they be ready that morning yet? He had an important business meeting, etc,etc. The manager was not there yet which is why I answered the phone. I was unofficially in charge when he was gone. The crew was great to work with and we all had fun, but I was pulling my hair out after that call! For I really didn’t think we could do it, but didn’t want to lose a big order for him. I started telling everyone what we needed to do when phone rang again a few minutes later. It was my manager this time and I told him how he had to get here on the double! Of course he busted up laughing! He had disguised his voice really well!! He was so lucky that I can take jokes real well! He was very brave to show up at work that day! Haha!

So moral of the story? No matter the job, you can make it enjoyable if you have the right people to work with! And with my teens getting ready to start their first jobs, I pray that they can have the fun experiences I had to help them get through the rude customers, rude bosses, etc. πŸ™‚

What was your favorite job and why? Feel free to share below !

 

5 thoughts on “One thing leads to another!

    • Never fear my dear, he had nothing over you! πŸ™‚ But it was before I met you so didn’t have you yet to compare to! But when I did meet you the Twitterpated feeling you gave me FAR outweighed that one πŸ™‚ ❀ you!

      Like

  1. My first job was working in the concession stand at a local drive in theatre. (Now I am showing my age! LOL) I hated cutting up the onions for the hotdogs but other than that, it was kind of fun. Got to see a lot of kids from school. Next, I worked at the downtown theatre in the concession stand. (There were only 2 of them and both of them showed only one movie at a time). Hahaha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My first real job was at a small, local pharmacy. There was another guy there my age and it was one of those things that went from hate to love but we never got on the same page at the same time. In retrospect it was probably for the best! But I definitely remember the twitterpated feeling 😍 We all had a lot of good times at that store (boys aside) – especially as it seemed to be one of THE places to go to gossip. Lol oh the stories!

    Like

Leave a Reply

