Sausage links vs. Frosted Flakes

This morning my daughter sleepily came to the table for breakfast. She looked at the bowl and said, “What is this?”, I said, “Umm…it is sausage links cut up , what you asked for.” Her reply, “I asked for Frosted Flakes in a bowl not sausage links!” So was she dreaming of sausage and really did say sausage not meaning it, or did I hear wrong? The jury is out, but being that I don’t hear that well and I am NOT a morning person it possibly could have been me πŸ™‚ But really Frosted Flakes and Sausage links don’t sound at all alike! I did understand the words in a bowl tho πŸ™‚

After chuckling about this again later this morning the thought hit me of how many times we say things we don’t mean. Tell me how many times have you said, “I’m fine.” when feeling fine is the furthest thing from the truth! You aren’t fine, you just don’t want to talk about it now. And besides you don’t think the grocery cashier really wants to hear a detailed description of your life in response to her , “How are you?” question.Β  Or the little kid who doesn’t want to nap. “Are you tired?” NO”, is their response as they are rubbing their eyes and doing their best to prove to you that they really aren’t tired! There are other questions people can say No to and just by their tone of voice, you can tell its not really a No, but they sure want you to believe it! Or the times when you ask a question and there is silence and you understand exactly what the person is saying; even tho they are not saying a word. Sometimes the silence speaks so much louder.

Can you think of times you have said opposite of what you meant? What about the time someone asks you if they can help carry your bags for you and your replyΒ  is , “No Thanks!” as you struggle with the weight. You wish they would have just said, “Here let me help you,” instead of asking πŸ™‚Β  Yes, I remember a situation years ago, where I was coming out of the store and someone mentioned to me how awfully heavy those bags must be and if I needed help. Now if that would have been all they said, I would have let them. BUT they added the words , “for someone so small like you!” You know how certain words just kick in your adrenaline. Those did πŸ™‚

So that is my deep pondering for the day, feel free to share your experiences below with words you may have said when meaning the opposite!

 

10 thoughts on “Sausage links vs. Frosted Flakes

  1. I used to car pool with a lady who constantly babbled about everything and nothing and, I was certain, was not listening to anything I said. One morning, when we were underway, she said started babbling as expected and then suddenly said “How are you?”. I really have no time for social and meaningless banter… and even less time for one-sided conversations, so I replied “Feeling really shitty actually!” Her response? “Oh good. Did you hear about ………………….”
    Perhaps we are not totally honest because much of the time it is meaningless social chit-chat! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the odd time when I’be been out with a friend. They have some ugly piece of clothing on (doesn’t look good on them to me) and they are my friend and love the item. They think there hat or whatever is so trendy. You can’t be mean and disagree, so you say it’s cute and hope they forget about the item soon. They are allowed to wear what they like, so you are kind of stuck. Great write, funny hat you thought your daughter said πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

