Tuesday’s Thoughts!

"Mockingbirds don't do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don't eat up people's gardens, don't nest in corncribs, they don't do one thing but sing their hearts out for us." -Miss Maudie:    Good Morning!! Today’s quotes are in dedication to Harper Lee! I always loved her book To Kill a Mockingbird. If you haven’t read it or at least seen the movie, you need to! Now with her new book that came out, that was actually written before To Kill a MockingBird, I have mixed feelings about it. Would love to hear from others, if you have read it. I am glad I read it, for if not, I would have constantly been wondering. It  was not what I was expecting and honestly I almost put it down, but I always need to finish a book. I am glad I kept reading for tho different, it still has some very good points to it. Enjoy your Tuesday, and as you go about your day remember not to dare kill a Mockingbird 🙂

1. “Hold your head high and keep your fists down!” Atticus Finch

2. “Atticus…he was real nice…”.  “Most people are Scout, when you finally see them!”

3. “Many receive advice, only the wise profit from it.”

4. “Atticus told me to delete the adjectives and I would have the facts.”  (this one stood out to me today)

5. “I wanted to show you what read courage is. It is when you know your licked, before you even begin, but you begin anyway and see it through; no matter what!”

6. “Watch carefully the magic that occurs when you give a person just enough comfort to be themselves.” Atticus

7.”Before I can live with other folks, I gotta live with myself. The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience!” Atticus

8. “There’s lots of ugly things in this world son, I wish I could them all away from you, that’s never possible. ” Atticus

9. “The time your friends need you is when they are wrong.” from Go Set a Watchman

10. “I guess its like a airplane; they’re are the drag and we are the thrust. Together we make the thing fly. Too much of us and we are nose-heavy, too much of them and we are tail-heavy, its a matter of balance.” from Go Set a Watchman

10 Harper Lee Quotes That Taught Us How To Be A Good Person:

13 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Thoughts!

  1. Oh joy! I am so glad your wrote this today, To kill a mockingbird is my favorite book. I was disappointed by the second book and I’m still mad at it. It was nothing I was expecting,the main characters were gone and for me, it had no story. Almost gave it a 1 star 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    • I knew you would like this, I remember you sharing about how you loved the book before! I understand the disappointment in the 2nd book. Did you read Little Learner’s comment down further? It helps me understand a little more about the 2nd book.

      Like

  2. I also love “To Kill a Mockingbird.” I try to read it once every five years. My copy is well worn and pencil marked. “Go Set a Watchman” has its place. I don’t think Lee would have ever published it. It was her first attempt at writing a novel, and while it wasn’t outrightly rejected, the publisher encouraged her to rewrite and tell the story from Scout’s childhood perspective rather than Scout’s adult self. Lee put Watchman aside for a reason. The publisher resurrected it for a reason. Having said that, I really like it. If you read a biography of Nelle Harper Lee, you will see that the story shadows her own life. There is so much of Lee in the story. And I do think it has value. Thanks for the quotes today! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks for your comment, I will have to read the biography of Nelle Harper Lee! I believe you are right that she wouldn’t have published the 2nd book. I understand more the value now if you say there was o much of her in the story. Gonna check out Amazon now for the biography 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think 6 & 7 are my favorites from this week! Both are certainly true! I haven’t read To Kill A Mockingbird in a while but I’m thinking it may be time to revisit 🙂 I’ve almost been avoiding Go Set A Watchman just because of all the mixed reviews, but perhaps it’s time…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes I really liked number 7, that was one of my favorites. I think I want to read it again to, haven’t read it since Junior High! Let me know what you think when you read Go Set a Watchman! I think you will handle it better for you know its not what you may expect. Unlike me who did not read the reviews at all and went into it expecting another book like To Kill a MockingBird!!

      Like

  4. I have yet to read “Go Set a Watchman”, but there have been many mixed reviews. Maybe if we don’t try to compare it and just read it as a stand alone it might have its place? I do like all the quotes you provided here, though:)
    BTW, I really enjoyed your flashback post from when you started the blog, but I couldn’t “Like” or comment for some reason. So just wanted to let you know I read it and really liked it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

