Blue eyed or Brown??

So I made it through 8 hours of my eyes being blurry from being dilated yesterday. AM sure I got strange looks from some drivers, as i had my sunglasses on to drive after leaving the eye dr.s office; being that it was a cloudy day! I also got strange looks from my girls as I walked inside the house with my sunglasses on and ate supper that way. The bright lights just hurt the eyes and the sunglasses felt better. I was able to take them off before 8 hours tho πŸ™‚ just not able to read.

Glad to say that I won’t need my cataract in my left eye out yet. It is growing, but Dr said I can wait since its not causing real problems. So time will tell. Everything else looked good!

Here is my question for you. I learned something new. When the tech was getting ready to put the dilation drops in my eyes I asked her if she could put half the dose in, since I was so sensitive to them. She said yes and asked me how long it usually took my eyes to get back to normal. When I told her at least 8 hours, sometimes longer she was surprised. She said what makes it more surprising is that I have brown eyes. I was like , um.. yeah, but what does that have to do with anything? Apparently brown eyed people are supposed to recover faster from dilation. WELL my eyes missed receiving that message. Blue eyed people are supposed to have more trouble with it.

HMMMM…….are my eyes really brown? Maybe they are blue πŸ™‚ Sorry, couldn’t resist! Have you all seen The Dress picture that has made the news and all other sorts of social media? I am sure at least one of my readers have, so you will get that comment. If you haven’t, just google it and you will see what I am talking about. You will feel so much smarter that you know of piece of such important news! LOL!

Am curious, for those who have got their eyes dilated,Β  what has your experience been with how long the dilation lasts? Are you brown eyed or blue? πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Blue eyed or Brown??

  1. Hey JR! Good to hear from you. And I so swear that dress is white and gold – how about you?! I saw on the Ellen Show that it is really blue and black, and I am totally baffled. Anyway – been a while since I had my eyes dilated, but I think it only lasts a few hours. My eyes are hazel. A friend of mine has a catarac, and I can so feel for what you went through/are going through. It sounds terrible, especially being young. Glad you got a reprieve for a while – anyway. Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I say white and gold too! Boggles my mind how its really blue and black!. Oh I love hazel eyes!! I think they are pretty, for they are unique! My husband has hazel eyes.
      Thanks for your thoughts on the cataracts. Not fun, but am glad that there is help for them! The worst part about the cataract surgery was all the drops you had to do afterwards and the 1 set of drops that you had to do the longest burned when they went in. During the surgery I did think from time to time, will I see again right when this is over. You see bright lights, different colors. You are kind of out of it,they give light sedative which helps relax you.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh lord, that dress! πŸ˜€ i saw white and gold at first, then I went to sleep. When I awoke, it was blue and gold haha. It drove me crazy trying to figure how I could see both. I am glad you wouldn’t need any surgery! πŸ˜€ I never knew about the blue/brown eyes thing. I’m brown eyed too but never had a dilation, so I wouldn’t really know. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes the dress, you can’t escape! Haha! Wow, I have never seen blue,I have tried! Now my Mom has seen blue and we all look at her like WHAT??? LOL! Lucky you on never having your eyes dilated!

    Like

  4. My husband told me about the blue and brown eyes thing recently, when we had our eyes checked on the same day and I took longer to recover from the dilation than he did. My eyes are light brown, not quite hazel, but with a bit of green; and other people in my family have blue eyes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

