Letter to the Homecoming Prince

Dear Homecoming Prince: Today I was listening to Peter,Paul and Mary and their song, Blowing in the Wind. You were too young to appreciate their music, but they were talented. It’s 3 words in that song that made me think of you. HOW MANY TIMES….???

That’s the question that rings in my mind.  How many times do we have to hear the horror story of another school shooting? How many times do innocent children have to die? How many times til society WAKES UP! We may not be living in a country where war rages and innocent children die that way, BUT our children are in the midst of a war.

I want to say I am so sorry! I didn’t know you, but it breaks my heart that you felt such deep pain that you had to take your life and others also.

What could we have done to stop you? I cannot imagine the nightmare your parents are living with and your friends! I don’t understand, just like a lot of people, but one thing I do grasp. That is that you and your peers are in the midst of a war. A war that I feel society has created in part. I don’t want to go into a list of reasons I have for these school shootings that are becoming too common. This isn’t a political statement. I just want to let you know I care!

I wish you could have seen the potential you had in yourself, I wish you could have believed in yourself! I wish you could have known that no disappointment that you had to bear is too big for God. That no pain goes so deep that God can’t heal. I wish you would have known that your life is precious and that there never will be another person like you

Sadly I can’t tell you these things, but I can tell my girls. I can and do remind them of how precious they are and how they have a purpose in this life. That no matter how deep a pain they have to encounter in life that they are never alone!!

I feel that is one thing that i can do in memory of you and of all the other victims of school shootings. I don’t know the answer to how many times this will continue to happen. But  I hope and pray that we as a society can reach out to our young people and that we can be good role models for them! That we can pray for our young people about the daily battles they face. The answers are BLOWING IN THE WIND, I hope society wakes up and sees them!

“Yes, how many time can a man turn his head, pretending he just doesn’t see,

The answer my friend is blowing in the wind, the answer is blowing in the wind.

Yes, how many deaths will it take til he knows that too many people have died.

The answer my friend is blowing in the wind, the answer is blowing in the wind.”

Sincerely,

Someone who Cares

Sincerely,

Someone who cares!

5 thoughts on “Letter to the Homecoming Prince

Leave a Reply

