The Bend in the Road….

A bend in the road is not the end of the road, unless you fail to make the turn! Helen Keller

A woman is like a tea bag; you never know how strong it is until its in hot water. Eleanor Roosevelt

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. Fredrick Neitzche ,(no, not Kelly Clarkson::)) Tho I do like her song!

So this Tuesday I decided to post 3 quotes instead of only one, writers can do what they want, right? πŸ™‚Β  WE all have trouble come into our lives. If you haven’t yet, WATCH OUT! It’s inevitable that you will meet that bend in the road. Life will be going smoothly and all of a sudden there is a turn, that you didn’t see coming. What will you do? As Helen Keller states, “It’s not the end!”Β  It’s true how you really don’t know how strong you are til you get in that hot water. That is the test!

Know that falling down and weeping on the road for awhile, does not mean you aren’t strong. It means you are human! Tears are healing and are needed in times of great stress. You can cry, scream, yell, let your emotions out; don’t hold them in! None of these emotions are signs of weakness, the weakness part is if you don’t get up and continue on the road. Even as you continue on, you may still fall…the load may get too heavy. The key is not giving up! Step by step you will make it! Sometimes you will feel good enough to take a giant step and other times onlyΒ  baby ones. You probably will even step backwards at times, but the important part is that you are striving to move forward, not just to stay where you are at.

Several times my friends and I have commented that we would prefer different scripts. That this wasn’t in our life plans.Β  The problem is that having a different script is not an option.Β  So we link arms with each other, with family and most importantly with God and we get through the bends in the road!

On a side note, about the last quote, you will become stronger. You will find a strength you didn’t know you had. No, I am not talking physical strength. If that was true, this other quote would be true! “I could bench-press a Buick!” I can’t even lift my husband’s weight bar! Well unless there is no weights on it πŸ™‚ You will find something far greater in you than physical strength. Inner strength! A wonderful quality to possess, but the only way to really build on it, is through the bends in the road!

19 thoughts on “The Bend in the Road….

  1. Thanks for the reminders, Carolyn. Apparently some of my pastoral counseling through the years was successfully passed on to the next generation.

    Like

  2. How very true. We never know what we’re made of, what we’re capable of, until we are tested, and tried–like gold. Gold must be heated, melted, I think the temperature I heard was 700, or maybe 7,000 degrees. Once it reaches that temperature, all the impurities float to the top and are skimmed off so what’s left is the finest, purest gold. We are God’s gold and He is continually skimming the dross from our lives.

    Like

  3. This is nicely said, and more often forgotten. This is something I should to read daily, like a kick start in the butt! Reminds me to get over myself, and that things could be worse. I love to use quotes, and I do so often, so please don’t stop because it’s a nice touch.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed this I thought it covered the unpredictability of life. When I get down or low I often think that you never know what is round the corner – for good or ill it’s all testing!

    Like

  5. So very true, though I hope this is not because you are traveling through a difficult bend in the road right now 😐

    It is crazy how these bends do make us stronger, more flexible, more compassionate to others, and able to handle the next bend a little easier…..

    Like

    • Aww thanks for your caring heart Jodi….as of this moment, no…BUT in the past year, yes….and before that as well.So yes when I write things like this, it is for me, as well as others. As you said, it makes us more compassionate to others and I want to be there to help others as they travel through bends in the road. Let them know they can make it, I am proof πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I found this particularly motivating at this time and I believe I know someone else who will greatly benefit from it. Would you mind If I send this to them along with the blog address.

    Like

    • I didn’t mean for my reply to go on here like a comment, so just doing it again in case you didn’t see it. I am glad you found my post helpful and it would be totally fine for you to send it to your friend along with my blog address. This is the goal of my blog to spread hope and smiles. Thakns for asking!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh Jim I am so glad you found this helpful at this time and it would be very fine for you to send that post and my blog address to your friend!! Thanks for asking and am glad to know that I can help. That is my goal of this blog, to pass on hope and smiles!

    Like

  8. I believe that I do have power to change my life script, but the same constraints apply as with any other creative project — make changes too quickly without thinking enough about the plot, and it turns into a muddled mess; a story can’t venture too far outside its cultural context while still making sense; and the behavior of the characters has to be consistent enough so that they are reasonably predictable! And of course, without some drama there wouldn’t be a story at all.

    So, although changing what we tell ourselves about our circumstances can give us a better script to work from when we’re imagining what might be around that bend in the road, randomly trying to change too much at once might cause us (and those around us) to feel like we’re stuck inside a bad novel. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I agree with all the comments on your blog post. However, in the light of writing and improving our writing, I could see it being told in the first person rather than “at” your audience. I think that would make it more enjoyable for the reader. This is just my opinion, for whatever it is worth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

